The Kitchen Can Wait

I am the worst for pushing aside my children so that I can get a task done. I feel guilty to be in my pyjamas at 9am (not to mention noon). I have high expectations on myself as an at-home mama.

Being 8+ months pregnant with a 2 & 4 year old does come with challenges. I’m sure I say this every pregnancy, but, ” I don’t think that I have ever been this tired!” And it’s only going to get worse – some things will be better, like having a cute newborn to snuggle, but the sleeplessness will not be better for a while.

So, how can you cope with times of excessive exhaustion or transitions in life? There are a few key things I’ve been learning and would like to share

Change your expectations:
Don’t mistaken this with lowering your expectations, that’s very different. Life is in transition and now is not the time for change or big projects. I often ask myself, “is this a reasonable request?” I have many projects that I feel should be done before the babies due date but I have to decide what is realistic. 4 sewing projects, organizing 3 main rooms of the house, and a freezer-meal marathon? Probably not.

Define daily goals:
Every day is different. Some days I have lots of energy and other days not so much. There are key things that HAVE to be accomplished. Feeding kids is #1. Getting dressed is optional. I like to have a tidy home when I go to bed to start the next day with a clean slate – that could be as easy as loading and running the dishwasher and doing a pick-up of things around the house. I am ok if I don’t wipe the table or sweep the floor.

Don’t make life harder than it has to be:
Remember KISS: keep it simple stupid (some, who are more refined than I, use sweetheart as the last “s”. I like the directness of the current statement). Even in good times we can overwhelm ourselves with high expectations. There is life after housework and meal planning. Remember to enjoy it!

Soon this baby will be here, we will be back to a regular running day, and life goes on. For right now I will focus on what needs focus and forget the rest.

I’ve been trying to focus my time on the kids these days. Soon a new baby will make them feel pushed aside. Also these are the last days of Oliver being the “baby” of the family so I’m just enjoying my kids.

This has been our week:
Dressing as a superhero

20130424-133441.jpg

Playing in the glorious outdoors

20130424-133510.jpg

Holding hands while watching a movie

20130424-133532.jpg

Baking together (went much better than past experiences)

20130424-133553.jpg

One thought on “The Kitchen Can Wait

  1. You are an awesome Mom, Wife & Friend, don’t ever think you are not doing enough. God has richly blessed you. Waiting anxiously for word of the a safe delivery.

Leave a Reply

