Refined by Fire

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.” James 1:2-3

This morning I woke up thankful for my trials. This is the first time in a while – if ever – that I have been thankful for hardship. Normally I would be crying out to God to deliver me from struggles but this morning was different. I felt truly thankful!

Over the last two years we Keezer’s have had many hardships. In all these times I can look back and say, “wow, I can’t believe I made it through but look at how much God grew me through this experience.” I have seen how strong I can be with His Spirit to strengthen me and I am refined because of the fire I’ve walked through.

The verse in James is one I quoted over and over in the last year. During the hard times I didn’t feel that my struggles were very helpful, and it was hard to feel joy at the time. I would quote Gods truth until I did believe – if that makes sense.

Life is hard! And there are two ways to make it through. Hold your head up and take it one step at a time or hide under the covers. With the strength of Gods Spirit I can choose the former!

Gods word talks a lot about trials – because life is filled with them. Here’s another passage of scripture that I find encouraging:

“These trials will show that your faith is genuine. It is being tested as fire tests and purifies gold–though your faith is far more precious than mere gold. So when your faith remains strong through many trials, it will bring you much praise and glory and honor on the day when Jesus Christ is revealed to the whole world.” 1 Peter 1:7 (NLT)

The Spirit is with us through it all. May we suffer well to bring glory to God!

Leave a Reply

