What’s next?

20130128-165850.jpg

I often see a glimpse of myself in my daughter. Unfortunately she has taken on some of my *habits*. This week after church she was asking if we could go out to eat for lunch. Now, when I say “asking” I mean again and again and again and again…you get the idea. She will ask myself and Chris many, many times.

I do that. A lot. I ,myself, can drive Chris crazy. I will ask until I get an answer – or hear the answer I want. I would say of my greatest weaknesses is, and always has been, patience.

This plays out in most of my life but especially in my faith. I don’t to like to wait for an answer from God. I want it now – and sometimes expect it before I have to ask. I want to know the next step and how that’s going to play out.

God never promises that he will give us “the big picture”. We are to trust in Him and he will direct us as we walk in obedience (Proverbs 3:5-6).

Waiting isn’t so bad! The Bible talks about waiting on the Lord – A LOT! One verse that comes to mind is Isaiah 40:31 “but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

Rather than exhausting myself – and others – by my incessant nagging I need to wait. God knows what is best and when is the best time to reveal the answers to my questions. I’m thankful for God’s continuous reminder in his word! I often forget.

I’m not as impatient as my 4 year old but I still have some work to do! Thank the Lord for His patience with me!

Leave a Reply

