Keeping things simple

20130125-121753.jpg

Ephesians 4:22-24 says,

“Put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.”

I have recently realized that I am too hard on myself. I have high expectations as a mom, home maker, wife, and just overall. It hit me a few days ago that I need to chill out!

When I shared my ‘epiphany’ with Chris his words were AMEN! I’m sure he’s said these things many times to me but it never sank in.

I’ve decided to do a few things differently to give myself a break:
– Be thankful! I often get bogged down with what I need to buy, budgeting, or what we may need at that time rather than take the time to inventory all that we are blessed with.
– make supper simpler. I don’t need to make a gourmet meal every night. My family is happy just to have food on their plates – well not Natalee, she’s in a new phase of hating anything and everything mommy does.
– sift through my clothing and only keep what I love most and wear often. I don’t need any more decisions in my day than necessary.
– take the time to look at all the things I’ve accomplished in the day rather than focusing on things still to be done.

I have done these things over the past week and what a difference! It’s amazing how fast negative inner-talk can bog you down! This “putting off the old self” stuff is hard work! It takes time. It takes making mistakes and learning from it. I’m thankful to have a God who forgives my selfishness and encourages my progress. I also have a pretty great husband who supports me.

Here’s to continuing in imperfect progress. Cheers!

One thought on “Keeping things simple

Leave a Reply

