Piggy-Backing

“Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming.” Ephesians 4:14

“Put on the full armour of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” Ephesians 6:11

I was a piggy-backer for many years in our marriage. I don’t mean I rode around on Chris’ back all the time – at least not physically. I was a “spiritual piggy-backer”. I don’t think this is a real word but my definition of spiritual piggy backing is a person who relies on others to gain knowledge of the Bible and a relationship with Jesus. Unfortunately faith doesn’t work that way. If I were to spend my time talking with Chris about his closest friend but never meet him in person he will never become my friend. Why do we think we can do the same with Jesus? Listening to sermons online and talking with others about their faith are not bad things but if this is all you do you will never have an intimate relationship with Jesus and be able to experience his personal blessings in your life.

I have learned, so far, that when I rely on my husbands faith and things get tough – which they do, and often – I have no foundation to keep me strong – I am tossed back and forth by the waves. I need to be studying scripture for myself and talking with God to be able to live in the Spirit and understand God’s call for MY life (not my husbands). This is how we all can put on the armour of God daily. Do you set aside daily “quiet time” to focus on your relationship with Jesus? Does this consistency help you when life gets tough?

Leave a Reply

