Theological Lessons from Horton the Elephant

I have recently come across a wonderful book and as the title would suggest it is about an elephant by the name of Horton. I had know about the book Horton Hears a Who, however I did not know about Horton Hatches the Egg. After a recent library trip that Beckie made with the kids they returned with a few books one of them being, Horton Hatches the Egg. Upon reading this to Natalee I realized just how profound a book it was.

The book talks about Horton being asked to sit on an egg because the mother bird was too lazy and wanted to go and play and do other things. Horton promises to do so no matter what. The line that rings though the entirety of the book is this “I meant what I said and I said what I meant, and an elephant’s faithful one hundred percent!”. Despite all that would provoke him to go he refused and endured ridicule and danger and storm just to hold true to his word. It got me thinking about Horton Hears a who as well where he defends what he knows is true despite the fact that no one believes him.

As Christians in our culture today it is amazing how often we are pushed to compromise or back down from teachings of the Bible or about giving up on things. Reading this book to Natalee made me think of Paul’s words through several of his letters calling us to persevere, to run the race, to finish strong. What an amazing opportunity to say to my own children that God calls us to do the same things in regards to our faith, to tell them that there are those who would ridicule and make fun of them because they do not believe the truth of scripture but that we are called to be faithful, to have integrity and to stand firm with Christ. How amazing would it be to have children that grow and say “though people will speak against me I will not back down God is my strength”? How amazing would it be for us as the Church of Christ to stand and say the same thing?

Maybe we need to take example from Horton and say “I said what i meant and I meant what I said I will stand with Christ who is faithful one hundred percent”.

Something to think about.

One thought on “Theological Lessons from Horton the Elephant

Leave a Reply

