Creamy Tomato Soup

I thought I would share one of our favourite lunches. We ate this on Wednesday for lunch, alongside of some grilled cheese sandwiches (with my gluten free bread). YUM!

My wonderful mother-in-law gave me a recipe book as a wedding present. In it was all of Chris’ favourite recipes as a kid. Every once-in-a-while I try a new recipe. I have had this soup before but never made it myself. SO easy! And….here it is:

Creamy Tomato Soup

3 Tbs butter or oil
1/4 cup onion, chopped

Blend in:
3 Tbs flour (I used 2Tbs of rice flour because it can be quite thick)
2 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
pepper to taste
dash of garlic powder, basil, oregano, thyme

Gradually stir in:
1/4 cup Ketchup (I didn’t have any ketchup so I used tomato sauce and added 2 tsp sugar and 1 tsp apple cider vinegar)
1 can (19 oz) diced tomatoes

Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil 1 minute. Take off of heat and add
2 cups milk (I used cream).
Heat almost to boiling and serve.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

