Drain Plant

Hello Blogisphere! I am the other half to Keezer’s Couch – Beckie. I am excited to be starting our blog. However, I am not a writer. I have no trouble articulating myself verbally but to put words down on paper is a struggle of mine (especially when it comes to spelling and grammar)! But I can’t let Chris do all the blogging – that’s the control freek in me – so here I go:

One morning I was about to hop in the shower when I made an interesting discovery. There was a plant growing in the drain hair…

I’m not sure what type of plant this was or how the seed got there. I just suspect that we were overly dirty that week from being out in the garden and carried in a dandelion seed. It doesn’t matter what plant it was or how it got there but it made me think; what a DISGUSTING place to grow!

Isn’t that how God works with us though? He does with me. I like to think that God has a sense of humour. And this photo, I think, proves my point. God can take any situation that is unbearable or unliveable and create life & growth. In Genesis chapter one the Bible says, “The earth was without form and void” yet God filled it with light, life and beauty. If God made the earth something out of nothing what more could he do in your life personally? Well 2 Corinthians 5:17 answers that question by saying, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold the new has come.”

I may be pulling these verses a little out of context to prove a point but think about it, really. God can grow anything anywhere! How amazing is that?

This realization has come at a wonderful time for me. Being a stay at home mom raising an almost three-year-old and a six-month-old is nothing short of trying! I used to think I was a great mother. I don’t anymore. But I know that God can redeem that. He can make me a new creation – an amazing mother, through His strength not my own.

To take 2 Corinthians literally I got my husband to “pass away the old” (ie. clean out the shower drain). After I took a photo of course. But I am amazed how God can put little things in our life to remind us how we need to change and put our faith in Him!

Leave a Reply

